Home > Personal > Unfinished Pages

Unfinished Pages


We all have them in our lives but over time they are just forgotten.

I was trying to hail a cab to get home as the wait for the bus was turning to be a no-show. As I was waiting for a cab to come my way a piece of paper drifted in the wind and stuck to my legs. Old, well-thumbed, torn and crumpled, I picked the page up and further crumpled it to throw it away.

I felt why not read it once and then throw it away and understand its mysteries. It was a torn page of a novel. Which one I do not know, I will probably never find out.

I finally did get my cab and the 2 hour-long drive was a haze of thoughts.

We all have unfinished pages and books in our lives. Over time they just keep adding and they feel like volumes when all it takes to complete the story is 2 lines. Most of us would like to finish these unfinished pages. Of course there are exceptions, some we don’t want to finish for the fear of them ending and some for the fear they hold over us.

One other possibility is that the pages themselves choose not to be finished. They do not want to complete their stories but leave it in suspense. But over time even that suspense becomes dull much like a long running soap on television. Some of these very pages may reopen another day in our lives, but will we be interested then?

The 2 hours I held the paper in my hand and as I got out of the cab I dropped it for the wind to carry it forward, in hope that it completed its book.

Categories: Personal Tags:
  1. Dagny
    May 13, 2013 at 5:54 am

    Fabulous thought and impeccable rendering. Good writing…

    • May 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

      Thank you. Its written from personal experience. Maybe that is why it works.

  2. May 13, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Love it. Very well written. When will you stop amazing me?

    • May 13, 2013 at 4:58 pm

      Thank you but this was written some years ago but its still relevant :).

  3. May 18, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Wonderful words,most of the time its the fear that the ending will be different from our expectations, holds us back.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

