Home > Fiction, Personal > The Sparring

The Sparring


The summer evenings were hot and humid but the evening sparring sessions were my solace away from the world. It was in these sessions that my thoughts became clear and my head would become empty of confusions.

Today’s choice of weapon for the session was the long stick. As my sparring partner joined me I noticed her attitude. It was uncomplicated, clear thinking and that showed in her body language.

Most men would not want to spar with an expert but I enjoyed it. It felt good to have someone as good to spar and train with.

As we took our positions on the arena, I observed her stance. It was firm, assertive and very confident. Her dark skin and her long hair were distracting but yet she was merciless when it came to training. Ours was a relationship of respect and even though she was very beautiful, I preferred to have her as a friend.

I moved my feet and our sticks clashed. The wooden sound crackled the atmosphere and at that precise moment I dropped all my worries and was trying to disarm her.

My strikes were all blocked and there was no window through her defense. After five minutes of sparring she finally spoke, “You are boring today. There is no fun in the fight. You are not even trying to think ahead of me.” Her irritated and admonishing voice was not lost on me.

“Office was rough,” was all I could mumble.

“Give that reason to someone else,” she said and moved with speed to try and disarm or trip me into submission.

I saw the fierceness in her eyes and evaded and blocked.

“You are in love. There is a lack of anger and purpose in your sparring today,” she stated flatly.

I felt like I was being studied as a behaviour analysis subject and she was looking through me. I smiled and said, “So it’s that obvious.”

She looked squarely at me and moved with precision and speed and her stick connected with my plexus and she easily disarmed me and tapped my shoulder with her weapon and tripped me over.

I was gasping for breath and tried to get up when she kicked me and with her stick held me down.

In her stern, commanding voice she said, “Fight or perish but live nevertheless.”

The session was going to be a long one for me. I smiled as I heard the Devil in me curse and crib about my choice of sparring partners.

As I took in a few long breaths I heard her command, “Once more.”

As I took my fight stance, I was sure and clear-headed of my choices and options.

A small smile escaped my lips a moment before the wooden weapons contact and snapped the air around to attention.

  1. May 28, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    The narration is crisp and now i want to know more 😀

    • July 3, 2013 at 2:21 am

      I will try and expand it. Let’s see where it leads.

  2. Dagny
    June 3, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Beautiful. I can feel the tension. Electric.

  3. June 28, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    It was a lovely read, specially the way you have written the body language.

    • July 3, 2013 at 2:22 am

      Thank you very much, Saru.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

